Matt’s Espresso Brownies

These brownies are my tried and true. They are super easy to make and no one will be able to tell that they’re made with a box mix! I was searching through the Food Network site for a good recipe on brownies that use espresso powder. I found one by Giada de Laurentiis and it doesn’t disappoint. These are delicious every single time I make them. I love cold brownies so I usually put these in the fridge for about a day before cutting and serving. Be careful who you give these to. They’re so addicting. I cut them into bite size pieces so when I have five of them it makes me feel better! The icing is what makes these brownies so don’t leave it out.
 photo 12341214_10153152247256175_7795675477259335345_n_zpswvzardku.jpg
Espresso Brownies (Giada de Laurentiis)

Ingredients:
Brownies:
A parchment or foiled lined 9×9 baking pan (I use a square pan)
1/3 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
2 tbsp espresso powder (I used the William Sonoma kind)
1 box brownie mix 19-20oz (I use Ghirardelli)
3/4 semi sweet mini chocolate chips

Glaze:
2 tsp of espresso powder
2 tbsp of water
1 tsp vanilla extract (I use Madagascar Bourbon)
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 tbsp room temperature butter

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking pan with foil or parchment paper. Whisk 1/3 cup of water with oil and eggs in a large bowl. Add 2 tbsp of espresso powder and mix together. Add brownie mix and stir until combined. Do not over whisk. Stir in chocolate chips. (Add 1-2 tsp of flour if using regular size chocolate chips because they’re heavier and will sink to the bottom of the pan without the coating of flour). Pour batter into baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Cool completely before adding icing. (Trust me on this one. The icing needs to set and will not set if the brownies are still hot). While the brownies are cooling, dissolve 2 tsp of espresso powder in the 2 tbsp of water in a medium bowl. Add vanilla extract and stir. Mix in powdered sugar and butter. Whisk until smooth and glossy. Pour over cooled brownies. Stick the brownies in the fridge until the glaze sets and the brownies are cold. Cut into bite size pieces and serve.

I’ve sent this to the wounded warriors that I know. These brownies are tied with the Fireball Pecan Pie in terms of the number of requests I get to make them. I first sent these brownies to a wounded warrior in Alabama. I’ve named them after him! Hi Matt! Enjoy these. They’re a real treat. xoxo, J.

Leave a Reply

