Banana Bread

 photo 294515_10150254250491175_3642499_n_zpswcqf7wdg.jpg
This is my all time favorite banana bread recipe. You really can’t mess it up! I’ve tried many times and it still comes out delicious. I make this recipe from memory because I make it so much. The key to any good banana bread is ripe bananas. I usually wait until they’ve turned black on the outside. Trust me. It flavors the bread with natural sugar so I don’t add as much.

Banana Bread
Ingredients:
5-6 ripe bananas (I used kinds where the skin is black – peel them)
half a stick of melted butter (I’m guessing this is between 1/3 and 1/4 cup – I never measure)
1 beaten egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (Madagascar Bourbon)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)
a pinch of ground nutmeg (optional)
a pinch of salt
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 8×4 loaf pan with cooking spray or smear a layer of butter on the pan so it doesn’t stick. In a large bowl, mash the ripe bananas. You could leave it in big chunks. I prefer the consistency of baby food. I found that this method has made the most tasty banana bread. Pour in the melted butter and mix together. Stir in the salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg. The cinnamon and nutmeg is optional but I love banana bread with a hint of cinnamon/nutmeg. It is still delicious without it. Whisk in the sugar. Add beaten egg and vanilla then mix again. Whisk in the flour. Mix just until it’s combined. Do not over mix. Bake at 350 for about 55-60 minutes depending on your oven. I usually check to see if it’s done by inserting a chopstick in the middle of the loaf. If it has a few crumbs that’s fine. If it has sticky crumbs or lots of crumbs then it needs to bake some more. The top should be a golden brown color. Sometimes it turns a dark brown like the picture. Let it cool for about 10-15 minutes before slicing.

This banana bread is delicious whenever! I eat it warm, hot, and cold. It’s very durable. And of course, you guessed it. I bake loafs and send them overseas. They hold up quite well and reminds our military of the comforts of home. xoxo, J.

Leave a Reply

